My Promise

So, I’m all moved into my new space.  It will forever be a work in progress I have come to terms with that but I am super happy with what I have going on right now and I can’t wait to roll up my sleeves and get busy making this space mine!

Booth - The Junkery

Note: this post may get a tad heavy before it gets light again but stick with me 🙂

While I am fairly new to the scene in terms of running my own space I am certainly no stranger to vintage/antique stores and what they have to offer.  In fact, other than my own home, vintage and antique stores are where I am most comfortable and relaxed and while I absolutely love digging through other peoples Junk and think that there is most definitely a place for piles of junky goodness, I really like my space to feel like it could be a room in your house.  Less clutter with more of a collected feel.

I hate the thought of just becoming a “dealer.”  I started The Junkery out of a love for the process of finding treasures, cleaning them, fixing them and re-homing them.  Not to make fast cash.  If making cash was my goal I could surely find something that involved a lot less lower back pain.  I am quickly learning it’s easy in this business to get sucked into “making rent” and focusing on “what sells” and while I think those things are important, if that becomes my focus, I will quit.  I want money to be a by-product of what makes me happy.

That said you won’t find my space cluttered with tons of yard sale or even wholesale finds that I got at a good deal but what you will see is mostly vintage items carefully selected because they fit a look or style that inspires me.  I have a rule, If I wouldn’t put it in my home, I won’t put it in my space.  I promise.

Whew, now that I got that out, consider this your official invitation to The Cottage Door Open House, 5 Year Anniversary and The Junkery Grand Opening being held on Saturday April 25, 2015.  Come, hang out, eat, take selfies with me, oh and maybe shop a little.

Grand Opening - The Junkery

Thanks for reading,

Amber

2 thoughts on “My Promise

  1. Oh, the Places We See

    So glad you’ve decided to join the business crowd. We had a booth at Westwood Antiques for several years and loved the hunt, the sales, the people who visited. Best wishes for good times and much success!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

