Fixin’ To Friday #2

On Fridays I share a project that is in one stage or another of its transformation. Sometimes it may just be a pile of wood I have a vision for others it may be something just lacks a few finishing touches and other times I may be in need of some inspiration and will be asking for your help. I would love for you to join in also. You can link your projects in the comment section below or go to my Facebook and add your photos to the comment section under the post. To see past Fixin’ To Friday go here.

My goal with this is to not only encourage myself to get started on some of those visions I have but also to get you going on whatever it is you have been Fixin’ to do…for the last year or so.

But First, The Purge Update:

As you know we’ve been working on The Purge as you also know, I am still getting in the swing of this blogging thing so forgive me for the lack of “The Purge” photos. As a family we participated in a massive yard sale at Sevier County High School. We loaded up our crap, hauled it 35 miles and unloaded it for about 3000 people to sift through. If you know anything about yardsaling in The South you know you are up before the sun and on the road with plenty of change and coffee.  Baby Daddy pulled a sleeping beauty and although I was up and ready to roll by about 6:00 a.m. he couldn’t get in gear so we wind up not getting to our spot until about 7:15. BIG FLIPPIN MISTAKE! By the time we started unloading there was already Literally 500 people perusing through the parking lot of other vendors. I’m usually pretty chill but panic set in as we began feverishly unloading. Nothing like fleeing customers to highlight just how slow your husband moves in the mornings. I swear it was like a rusty tin man. Archer my son is a worker bee and tries to move everything even things that could kill him if they fell on him. Addyson, on the other hand, my little bookworm, groans in annoyance if you even look expectantly in her direction. Anyway, we sold tons of clothes, toys and shoes we didn’t need any more and what did not sell was left there and a donation truck picked it up. All in all, totally worth it and already looking forward to the next one.

Once things slowed down a bit I had a minute to check out some of the other families Junk. I didn’t see much that spoke to me but one thing I did find took me about 2 seconds flat to decide it was coming home with me one way or another:

The Bro Table or as I like to call it The Naughty Table

Fixin To Friday - Purple Table1 - The Junkery

This purple school table is well built, no doubt to withstand the punishment school age children can put on furniture.  Even so, a few of the planks needed securing so my handymen got right to work.

Fixin To Friday - Purple Table7 - The JunkeryFixin To Friday - Purple Table8 - The Junkery

Please notice Archer happily riding along on his scooter until he hears the sound of the nail gun, after which, his dad has his full attention.  My worker bee is going to make someone a good husband someday.

My little school table came complete with sturdy legs, gum, graffiti and a penis.  Yes folks a penis.

Fixin To Friday - Purple Table6 - The Junkery Fixin To Friday - Purple Table5 - The Junkery Fixin To Friday - Purple Table4 - The Junkery Fixin To Friday - Purple Table3 - The Junkery

I can just imagine this table in the corner of some middle school class room with a couple of trouble makers cussing and shooting spit wads.

I have some plans for this retired school table.  I’m thinking a NFS (Not for Sale) display table for my events or for my booth OR if a certain 3rd grade teacher sister of mine decides she wants it, it may see a triumphant return to the classroom.  Either way I am already attached to it and can’t wait to get started on it.

Link your Fixin’ To Friday projects in the comment section below or head over to my Facebook and upload your projects under the post.

Thanks for reading,

Amber

UPDATE: You can click here to see the finished product!

One thought on “Fixin’ To Friday #2

  1. Pingback: Back to School 2015! | The Junkery

Leave a Reply

