Never have I ever

Loved or hated a piece of furniture so much in one day.

Have you ever had something in your home that you absolutely could not stand looking at?

I worked on this piece for several days before the last Traveling Bazaar event I participated in.  It even went with me.  I refused to price it and even told a customer who offered to purchase it that it was not for sale because I was mad at it.  I hated it.  I hated the colors, I hated the finish, I hated everything about it. It was not what I envisioned when I started working on it.  I just felt like it belonged in a 1993 Better Homes and Garden magazine.

We got home from the sale unloaded it and only a couple of days went by before I threw a blanket over it so I would not have to look at it as I passed through my basement. Here it is on the grass preparing for battle.

20150429_151520

and here is the semi-finished product. there is only a number on top of that paint can but I have two gallons of it and from here on out I’m calling it Farmhouse White.  It’s not too cream, not too white, not too beige it’s just right.  I am painting anything that doesn’t move with it. I just love the way the beadboard backing pops out now.  Bye Bye dated corner shelf, hello FARMHOUSESWAG.

20150429_161033

The finished version of this piece will be available for purchase at the Clinch River Antique Festival this weekend.

Thanks for Reading,

Amber

Leave a Reply

