Recent Sale Recaps

So unfortunately it took me a while to get to this post.  I’m lame. Sorry. In the future I am going to try to process out my thoughts here on the blog before the just evaporate all together.  For some reason after a particularly busy working weekend of shows I become somewhat withdrawn from the blog because I am afraid of sharing anything too negative but I have decided its really better to just get it all down and worry about the tone during editing. Saturday May 2, 2015 I participated in the Clinch River Antique Festival. The day was a hoot! Keith, my son and I started early, like 4:30 early.  I behaved the way he does when its the first day of bow season.  I had the coffee on, the eggs scrambled and the truck loaded all by about 5:15 (okay he loaded the truck the night before) but I helped. He didn’t speak the whole way there and he really only grunted to the organizers who were showing us where to park and unload. Upon arrival I realized I had almost twice as much space as I thought I had.  Instead of a 10×10 I was in a 10×18 space.  While it was glorious to spread out my goodies with space to move around, I do feel there is something to be said for a cozy space spilling into the isles with awesome junk.  I find that each event I participate in I learn a little more about my set up, what sells and what doesn’t. Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Booth My son and Keith helped me unload.  We have discovered my son absolutely loves to work.  He unloaded about 25% of my stuff himself.  Sometimes he was moving or trying to move things twice his size.  It was comical to the say the least. The City of Clinton closes down a couple of roads in the heart of the city and has 100 plus vendors lined down either sides.  I was set up and ready in plenty of time before the shoppers started arriving.  It was a chilly spring morning but by about 10:00 a.m. the sun was warming us and the smell of kettle corn was in the air.  My friend Casey came and sat with me most of the day which was great because when I needed food or a potty break she manned the fort and kept me company of course. Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Copper Canister Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Enamel Candle Holder Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Flour Sack - Foot Stool Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Ironstone - Feathers Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Ironstone - Succulents Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Milk Paint - Apples - Succlents Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Milk Paint - Lazy Suzan - Jute Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Scale Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Scale2 Clinch River Spring Antique Fair - 2015 - The Junkery - Transferware Gravy Boat I was emptied out by pretty early on which meant that my 10×18 space looked even more sparse. The next day with a little more than half the inventory I had Saturday I headed over to The Traveling Bazaar and even with Cruze Farm Ice Cream, Mister Canteen Food Truck, Honeybee Coffee and a musical guest we couldn’t compete with the beautiful weather in Knoxville that day. My sales were dismal but I’m excited about participating in The Traveling Bazaar upcoming events though.  I’ll be shopping all summer long for new inventory. May 17, 2015 The Market on McCalla was held at Nostalgia in Knoxville. I was so looking forward to this event and was so bummed when I elected not to participate. I could not stand the thought of all of my milk and chalk painted furniture melting in the weather that day.  Turns out the rain cleared out long enough for the sale to take place so I suppose I missed the boat.  Fortunately for me the sale is held every second Sunday from April to September so I am looking forward to another chance later this year. Thanks for reading Amber

Special Thanks to Stefanie Stair for photographing my goodies!

One thought on “Recent Sale Recaps

Leave a Reply

